Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a newbie question - what's the right way to clean this muddy drivetrain? I've heard that pressure washers are bad, and heard some say you must be careful cleaning the chain - but what's the right way to clean something this muddy, and to clean the cassette and crank area?

Sorry if this is a dumb question - I'm new to biking and just learning how to care for my bike. Thanks for any help.

Alligator Crocodilia Crocodile Rust Synthetic rubber

Bicycle tire Wheel Bicycle wheel rim Bicycle wheel Bicycle part

·
Registered
18,008 Posts
I'd use a hose, if you have an adjustable nozzle with a gentle spray setting that would be ideal. A cleaning brush (old toothbrush works ok) for the nooks and crannies followed by a good flossing with a rag. Once it's clean and dry lube the chain, derailleur pivots, jockey wheels, etc. well and then wipe them dry.

Don't use a pressure washer.

·
since 4/10/2009
35,271 Posts
honestly, the drivetrain itself doesn't have much on it.

The dried mud is mostly on non-moving parts, anyway. crank arm. frame. rim/tire.

I'd probably knock a lot of that stuff off with a dry rag or towel even before pulling out the water. But generally speaking, when I do use water, I tend to prefer a bucket of soapy water with a sponge and a brush for the cleaning. the fine mist spray is good for rinsing, though.

and yes to ensuring the bike is dried well and lubed before being put away.

·
Registered
2,634 Posts
A garden hose if you have it.

Spray the bike with gentle spray patterns. Do not pressure wash ever. Even your garden hose on high power and a jet stream should be considered pressure washing. Never blast the wheel bearings. Suspension pivots. Bottom Bracket. Top/bottom of the head tube.

For the chain I'd take a brush to it first. I like to use "grunge brush" -you can fine one at a local motorcycle shop perhaps.