Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

How to begin building trails (permissions)

35K views 34 replies 21 participants last post by  Intense rider 
#1 · (Edited)
So I'm considering doing some trail work at my local place of riding. It's a county park, but they don't have anyone who maintains the trails. The trails I would like to work on are already created. They receive a lot of foot traffic as well as bikers so they need to cater to both. So my question is what's the right way to start working on the trail. Should I just show up and go to work? Or should I contact the park office and try to get approval (not too eager to go this route)? Any advice is appreciated.

#3 ·
I'm no pro trail builder, but I guarantee the veterans here will all advise you to GAIN PERMISSION first. If you build first and get into a conflict, they may shut down the trail, revoke access for bikers, and it will surely leave a sour taste in their mouths. Get some advice here, ask permission first, and be honest about what you plan to do.

#8 · (Edited)
Ill check the web, that's a great idea. Also this is already recognized as a park, and most of the trails are recognized by the park. So it's basically maintaining and enhancing trails. I'm concerned about how to pitch the "enhancing" part though. I don't want them to think I'm out there to build jump and "dangerous" stuff, stuff that not everyone can enjoy. I will explain to them I want to clear the trails better, help with water run off, fix eroding trails, basic maintenance. I think that will be enough to get the ball rolling. I'm assuming I should stick to stuff like that to build up the trust for lack of better words, then worry about burms, bridges, drops, and features like that.

#33 ·