Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 140 Posts

·
Registered
622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding when I was just a wee lad, spent most of my youth jumping people, cars, houses, dogs and whatever I could find. I broke a lot of frames back then.
When I was young I lived in southern California (Orange county) and was around for the begining of BMX, We had races every weekend and the local radio station even came out to broadcast our races. The good old days.
I am curious what the average age around here is?
By the way , I'm 46 ( I think?) A.H.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Born in Dec of 75 but I don't remember that very well. Some of my earliest memories though are of riding BMX. When I moved to England in 88 I got involved with the freestyle riders at the base. RAD was the best movie back then and BMX Plus! was the magazine of choice. I rode all through school and then when I moved to Florida it was just so damn hot that I took up surfing instead. Eventually I got a motorcycle and took all my freestyle love to the streat with that. A few years ago my motorcycle was stolen. I ended up getting a road bike that I have been riding on and off for the past 3 years and now I'm in the market to get a mountain bike. I love to get outside and ride, it makes me feel like a kid.

·
Registered
293 Posts
41 here.

Aaron, my story is almost the same as yours. Starting riding when I was a wee punk. There wasn't a BMX frame in the neighborhood I couldn't break jumping off of loading docks and piles of shipping skids. I was constantly wrenching frankenbikes in my back yard and even tore down my moms bike (with a 3 speed internal geared rear hub) to trade those parts parts for my jump bikes. She was pi$$ed. I remember bunny hopping garbage cans on the way home from school.