Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 185 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,311 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm curious to know how often folks use their giant cog in the back when riding or climbing?

A related question is, when *should* you use it? (A technique question!)

I've been MTBing for many years...and over the years, I've generally found that using my big cog kinda sucks. Yes you have a lot of torque, but you move at a snail's pace—so slow that I find it difficult to remain upright without dabbing.

Maybe put differently, it seems that as you go bigger and bigger in the back, you reach a point of diminishing returns, because you're spinning like mad and barely moving.

I'll readily admit, though—my perception may be because I have shitty shifting technique and just don't fully understand exactly when to use my giant cog and when not to?

I was talking with a friend who told me that the "proper" technique is to never ride in your giant cog...except for just the **couple seconds** it takes to get over a big rock or root or something. He said when you hit the obstacle, you instantly shift into your giant cog, get over the obstacle, and instantly shift back to a smaller cog.

I've never really done this, partly because as a rule, I don't like shifting with massive pressure on the cranks. I always feel like I'm destroying my drivetrain when I do that.

But what I do kinda sucks, which is, I'll see the obstacle coming up—shift onto my giant cog, get over the obstacle, then keep spinning madly a while longer in my giant cog until I get to a section where I can relax a bit and shift back down to smaller cog.

So what is the "correct" technique?

NOTE: I'm talking about normal human riders here—not superstuds with Olympic Legs of Steel who can ride over anything on your smallest cog, LOL.

Scott

·
Registered
16,306 Posts
I use it whenever I need it and don't use it when I don't. I don't think there's any rule of thumb other than that.

·
Premium Member