Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I am still new to mountain biking and bought my first bike back in mid October, a '17 Specialized Fuse Comp. It has a Manitou Machete fork with 120mm travel. I set up sag at my LBS, but didn't have any riding gear on/with me, so the tech added a bit of extra air to the fork to compensate. I have ridden a bit over 100 miles now on my local trails and have noticed that I seem to only be using slightly more than half of the fork's travel. I am absolutely loving the bike, but I often see videos of people where the fork will almost bottom out on features, using the full travel. Should I visit my shop and have the tech take some air out of the fork even though I'm having fun with how it's currently set up? I don't have a shock pump.

For what it's worth, I ride fairly mellow trails in the metro Detroit area of Michigan, so I'm not riding any crazy downhills or sending big drops. Is it possible I'm not utilizing the full capability of the suspension just because the terrain is so mild?

Thanks!

·
MTB Addict
830 Posts
If you're riding fairly mild terrain, it's normal to not use all of your travel. You could soften up the fork to use more travel, but you might find that it's too soft.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
Get a shock pump.
let all the air out. Measure actual travel.
Set sag between 20-30%.

If you only ride smooth trails, you should still use about 3/4 of the travel. Measure this, since the exposed stanchion is longer than fork travel.

If you start to ride harder or start to ride rougher trails and bigger drops, you will need to add air.

·
Registered
9,742 Posts
If my fork is bottoming, I add spacers/tokens and perhaps compression damping and use whatever pressure is necessary to keep the sag the same. If I have it set up for the biggest hits I might take on a given ride, I won't use all the travel on rides that don't have hits that big.

·
Registered