Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was going to start riding my old trail bike (giant Warp) again and noticed when I turn hard the wheel flexes and rubs the brakes quite excessively. What can be done to correct this? I have backed off the brakes a lot. The wheel is mounted properly and the fork is straight and solid. There is no clunking, looseness or harsh movement felt when pushing side to side on the wheel: just flex. Is it a matter of adjusting spoke tension? Or is there a preload adjustment within the hub? I have no experience with servicing either. I did not notice this last year when I quit riding this bike but have used the wheel and tire from this bike on my NRS for a wet muddy condition race and did not experience any problems.Appreciate some help.

·
Registered
329 Posts
robgreat said:
I was going to start riding my old trail bike (giant Warp) again and noticed when I turn hard the wheel flexes and rubs the brakes quite excessively. What can be done to correct this? I have backed off the brakes a lot. The wheel is mounted properly and the fork is straight and solid. There is no clunking, looseness or harsh movement felt when pushing side to side on the wheel: just flex. Is it a matter of adjusting spoke tension? Or is there a preload adjustment within the hub? I have no experience with servicing either. I did not notice this last year when I quit riding this bike but have used the wheel and tire from this bike on my NRS for a wet muddy condition race and did not experience any problems.Appreciate some help.