Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I've been biking for about a year, and I'm still learning the ins and outs of the types of bikes, what kinds are good for what paths, etc. I typically ride limestone trails; my usual haunt is Waterfall Glen in Burr Ridge/Darien, IL (I will send some photos to update the listing.), an excellent 9.3 mile trail that I still can't seem to finish.

That's my problem -- my endurance. I work out about 3x a week, either biking or at the gym, but I can't seem to go for even moderate distances without needing to stop for breathers. Typically, I do about 3 miles of the trail, then take a break, then turn around and head back. I usually need at least one more stop on the way back, just because I get winded or my legs/behind start absolutely killing me. I am not a particularly large guy (5'9" 145), so I don't think it's my weight that could be a significant issue.

My only bike is a circa 1988 Peugeot Orient Express with entirely stock parts on it. It has a pretty heavy steel frame, and I am wondering if the heaviness of the bike would significantly impact my endurance. I would love a new bike (suggestions always welcome), but I probably won't be able to afford one until the summer is over.

So does bike weight significantly affect your endurance? Or am I just being a wimp? Or do most normal bikers need to stop for breathers, and I'm just not noticing them?

Feel free to be cruel and/or kind.

·
Ride on
639 Posts
Good question. I remember a 20 mile ride with a guy that had a 50 lb freeride bike. We stopped a lot for various reasons, probably on the order of every 3 miles or so, and he had to walk his bike a few times at the top of a long or steep climb. But he finished the ride nonetheless.