Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I worked in a bike shop for 6 years and it's a great advantage to know how to work on/build your own bike and know how to fix it out on a ride. I have ridden with guys who don't even look at the bike and are riding with crazy loose spokes, cranks about to fall off, etc. and I never understood that. Who works on their own bikes (self taught or work in a shop)?

·
Registered
49 Posts
Self-taught, with the help of books and the intraweb.

Everything but wheel building.

The only downside is, all your friends tend to be lazy to learn and just ask you to do fixes for them. I have friends who don't even know how to clean/lube their drivetrain and adjust their suspension.

·
Registered
630 Posts
Learning as I go. So far haven't needed to take it into the shop and hopefully won't for a while. Sometimes working on the bike can get frustrating (especially while learning), but it's nice to know your own bike instead of relying on someone else to fix/tune it for you.

I definitely have a buddy though who hardly ever pays any attention to his bikes. He barely even touches his suspension out of the box. I keep trying to convince him that it needs to be adjusted for his weight and riding style, but he says he's just happy to be on a bike. I guess if he's happy it's all good.

·
Registered
630 Posts
watsgowinon said:
Self-taught, with the help of books and the intraweb.

Everything but wheel building.

The only downside is, all your friends tend to be lazy to learn and just ask you to do fixes for them. I have friends who don't even know how to clean/lube their drivetrain and adjust their suspension.
Are you at least getting an unlimited supply of beer for this? Otherwise maybe it's time to teach them how to fish.

·
Registered
1,063 Posts