Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a wimp ass in the mind of some here, okay probably many but I thought for the first year riding, my longest ride over the summer was 22.3 miles. I crashed when I got home but it was an awesome ride. I rode with a couple of friends who after 12 miles called it quits, family plans. As I started to take off the gear I realized I had to go back in. I ran in to a Dad and his son and logged in another 10.3 miles. When I started riding in March 06, 5 miles was an effort. Longest ride?

·
Old man on a bike
12,395 Posts
Good advice about not trying to make every ride a race, make a good day of it at a maintainable pace with some nice view (or whatever) breaks and you'd be surprised how long you can go. I've done a few 60 and 70 mile mtb rides, but that's just a bit too long a day in the saddle depending on how much climbing is involved. Most of my epic rides now tend to be in the 40 mile range with 4-6000 feet of climbing, I do remember when I was new to the sport and really getting into it, if we went for a short group ride I would try and get another group to go out for a second one or do it myself. I prefer one good long one these days, with company preferably but if no one's around no big deal. On my road bike I did a 120 mile day with 10,000 feet of climbing, while it was nice to accomplish I've never felt like doing it again!

·
Registered
587 Posts
not far enough

Given the time I generally will do 18 - 25 mi with 2500' of climbing in a ride. Took me 2 years from when I started mountain biking before I could do that. My longest is only about 40 and that was due to getting lost. Never really tried to ride further. Obviously, the more technical the trail the looooonger the ride will seem. I am planning on doing a 50 mi route near my house just to baseline my conditioning. Then go back and do it every month to see how I'm improving.

Bob

·
If you have to ask...