Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,645 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks! I thought I'd get the most/best responses posting this here, and I didn't know where else to post it, so here goes:

I've been having an amazing season so far, and have averaged 6 days of riding each week, as I've taken the summer off and have time for it. I don't really track my mileage because most of our trails are relatively short, but steep (!). I've averaged 9 to 10,000 feet of climbing each week, but probably less than 50 miles.

Now, I've been riding these trails for almost 25 years, and have nonetheless still been getting PRs on some of them.

At 41, I've noticed a few things though. After three days in a row of hard riding, my legs just get more and more tired unless I take a day off. What I'm wondering is, is this something I just have to accept, or is there anything different I should be doing?

I know that the amount of climbing I'm doing is significant, but by no means ridiculous compared to what some are doing. I have a buddy who's a little younger than me who averages 3k of climbing every day, I'd say.

How much is too much? Is this something where I need to eat more, or eat the right things, and the fatigue will go away? What say you?

·
Registered
17,515 Posts
Elevating or maintaining fitness is a process of stressing your body followed by recovery and adaptation. If all your rides are hard or the same fatigue will inevitably set in and hamper progression.

10,000 ft. in 50 miles is a lot imo and it's hard to get an easy day in with that much climbing. I'm 15 years older than you and can ride 5-6 days in a row no problem but I try to mix up intense, very hard rides with easier ones. If I wanted optimal improvement I'd get a power meter and follow some sort of training plan.

·
Registered
6,613 Posts
I see you're in Montana....anywhere near Bozeman?