Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi single freaks
I'm about to buy a new Thomson Elite X4. I'm 6'1 and using a large Zaskar, but I feel my 120mm Woodman stem too long. What extension should the new Thomson have? 110mm or 100mm?
;)

·
Welcome to the Gem...
811 Posts
try both. pick which is more comfortable. there's no magic number with this ****.

if 120 is too long, try 100. if 100 is too short, try 110.

it's a black science, requiring much trial and error ;)

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks man
The problem is that I will order the stem from other country and this things are expensive on this side of the atlantic, plus I'm a student so the money is short for mistakes.

·
Welcome to the Gem...
811 Posts
well... go with the 100mm...

if it's too short... what's 10mm? bah

i'm 6-4 and use a 90mm. i just like to be more sitting up, as opposed to laying down.

·
is buachail foighneach me
6,589 Posts
110 would be the safest bet, but i think you would be fine with 100 too. is there anyway you can borrow a friends stem in 110 or 100 to try on your bike/bar setup for a ride or two?

·
(Ali)
782 Posts
My probably the only strong bike opinion has something to do with stem change. (I've written about it a hundred times here. :) )

I am almost 6' (178cm for the other side of the Atlantic :) )I went from 120 to 90 and loved it. The bicycle became very stable! Similar experiences in a Mountain Bike Action magazine review as well. So, go with 100mm. :)

Ali

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
By the way, I'm 186cm. I'm not very familiar with feets and all, so I'm not sure if I'm really 6'1 or more...
Thanks for all the help! Tomorow i'l try to steal a 110mm Kore from one of my friends. Wish me luck.

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
Discussion Starter #8