Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It seems like I'm always re-adjusting, fixing or replacing something on my mtb. Mostly drivetrain related or hydraulic disc break related (naturally). I've got a 2001 Specialized Enduro FSR which I've been riding for about 2 years. I ride about once or twice per week, for 1 to 2 hours. I ride fairly hard, mostly intermediate level trail and freeride - getting older so only very small drops etc. The previous owner purchased the bike new, but barely rode it since he had a new baby, although he maintained the bike very well and upgraded some components. It seems like I can barely go 2 weeks without having to re-adjust something - and then replace something every now and then. If I had a brand new bike, would everything run smoothly for a long time, or would I still be constantly re-adjusting, replacing ? Curious to what others are experiencing.:???:

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
iloj said:
It seems like I'm always re-adjusting, fixing or replacing something on my mtb. Mostly drivetrain related or hydraulic disc break related (naturally). I've got a 2001 Specialized Enduro FSR which I've been riding for about 2 years. I ride about once or twice per week, for 1 to 2 hours. I ride fairly hard, mostly intermediate level trail and freeride - getting older so only very small drops etc. The previous owner purchased the bike new, but barely rode it since he had a new baby, although he maintained the bike very well and upgraded some components. It seems like I can barely go 2 weeks without having to re-adjust something - and then replace something every now and then. If I had a brand new bike, would everything run smoothly for a long time, or would I still be constantly re-adjusting, replacing ? Curious to what others are experiencing.:???:
I do not consider needing minor adjustments or normal wear a failure.