Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How hard is it for a complete newbie to do a fairly standard build on a Surly frameset (considering Ogre, BC, and DT, depending on availability, etc)? Is it easy to find information, instruction, videos, etc, or is it a recipe for an automatic disaster?

(Hard to find complete bikes these days...)

Thank you.

·
Registered
ya like dags?
5,848 Posts
Good luck finding a Surly frame right now, but if you do you can assemble it with videos and a little mechanical aptitude. It's not hard, it does take some special tools though. Headset press, bottom bracket tool, cable cutters, etc. You can always take your bike into a shop and have them do this stuff too, just don't forget to factor the cost into your build no matter which route you go.

That other option is to put it together like a real Surly owner would. Bang the headset in with a hammer and a block of wood, install the bottom bracket with channel locks, cut cables with scissors from the junk drawer in your kitchen...

·
Registered
622 Posts
Do you have a shop to help you out? I built my LHT with the help of my bike co op. It was my first build from a frame, but I was already comfortable doing basic maintenance. It was still challenging, but rewarding and educational, and I got the exact bike I wanted.
My Troll and Karate Monkey I basically did on my own except I had the shop do the headset and bottom bracket.
pitfalls from my first build were lack of tools and lack of knowledge. Found a piece here and there that I had not considered. Remembered the handlebars, forgot the stem. Got the stem, oops, I need some spacers. And so on.