Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m new to MTB and have been riding a 20 year old XC hardtail. I want to upgrade to take advantage of modern geometry, dropper posts, full sus, etc. The Canyon Neuron 6 (2021) seems to be a good price (~$3k is what I’m aiming for) and fit the types of trails I ride (my goal is to ride Baby Grand at Palo Duro Canyon in the near future).

In lieu of having the opportunity to test ride the bike, I’ve read a lot of reviews on it. The general consensus is that it is a great bike, but has limits - specifically: other bikes would feel more confident on the descents (Fuel EX is a common comparison). I don’t live near any big enduro parks, so would I even notice it? How big of a difference is it, and how big of a mountain do you have to ride to feel it?

Bottom line is I don’t want to buy a bike that I’m going to immediately out grow if I start to hit gnarlier stuff, but I also understand that I don’t do any crazy downhill. Comments are appreciated!

·
Registered
23 Posts
If it is similarly capable as the fuel ex then you won’t overwhelm it quickly. You may not be able to go as fast on rough terrain as a true enduro bike, but it will be capable enough and more fun on the mellower trails.

·
29ers Forever
3,639 Posts
The Neuron seems to be their all around trail bike, so I'd imagine it would favor descending but still be a great climber.
That being said, there are many bikes for that price that are more well known. If there is a Neuron in your size that is available, you should buy it. In this market, things sell so quickly you can't really take time to think about it.