Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in my second year of training and have a couple of questions.Last year I didn't keep a detailed training log but this year I bought a polar watch and I have been downloading all my exercises to my computer.The first of June I felt like I really peaked.I won my first mtb race,the next day I set a pb on my local trail and two days later set a pb for 3 laps at my trail.Now I just don't feel near as strong.It seems like I don't have the top end near as long and it takes me longer to recover after above LT efforts.
How long should I go back in my log to see what worked so great for my peak in June so that I can repeat it in the future.1 month, 2 months etc..?Thanks,Jason

·
Registered
487 Posts
jmax24 said:
I am in my second year of training and have a couple of questions.Last year I didn't keep a detailed training log but this year I bought a polar watch and I have been downloading all my exercises to my computer.The first of June I felt like I really peaked.I won my first mtb race,the next day I set a pb on my local trail and two days later set a pb for 3 laps at my trail.Now I just don't feel near as strong.It seems like I don't have the top end near as long and it takes me longer to recover after above LT efforts.
How long should I go back in my log to see what worked so great for my peak in June so that I can repeat it in the future.1 month, 2 months etc..?Thanks,Jason
Your peak is limited. You can typically only expect to be on the razors edge for a couple weeks, max. You can peak more than once in a season, but you just need to go back to your build periods(or whatever you call the training blocks where you're doing your intervals, sprints, etc.) and work back to a second, third, fourth peak, etc.

·
Registered
2,659 Posts
jmax24 said: