Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to DH parks in general, I've only been to two: Whistler and Northstar. I've been to Northstar in both July and September, and the difference is almost enough to not make me even want to ride it in September. Of course, it's pretty blown out there even in July, so that's not saying much.

I've only been to Whistler in July, and didn't find it dry at all, though the brake bumps were already everywhere. How much dryer is it in Sept? Considering a late season trip up there and trying to decide if it's worth it. Though I wouldn't be surprised to hear that Northstar at its best is still way dryer than Whistler at its worst, meaning yeah I should go no matter how late in the season it is.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Completely varies year to year. This summer has been abnormally cool and damp which has meant awesome conditions. There was even mud during Crankworx EWS whereas August is normally a hot and dry dustbowl. September is usually better than July IMO, it's cooler at night and moisture hangs in the air more so trails are not as dusty. Also the trail crews do a lot of repair work after Crankworx and crowds thin out a ton. Especially mid to late September.. later in the month higher chance of rain though.

I would always choose September just for less crowds. Also guarantees that Top of the World will be open (usually closes 2nd or 3rd weekend of September though so check that).

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I would always choose September just for less crowds. Also guarantees that Top of the World will be open (usually closes 2nd or 3rd weekend of September though so check that).
Thanks for the advice!

I went last year before Top of the World was open and was pretty bummed. But this year they're already claiming it will close to bikes on Sept 8th. :-(

https://www.whistlerblackcomb.com/e...plore-the-park/hours-of-operation.aspx?tc_1=4