Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I lived under a rock and decided to convert the old shimano 3x9 (135mm QR rear hub) to 1x9 by removal of the smallest and largest chainring. It is a failure as the chain keeps falling off.

How do the 1x10/11/12 system prevent chains from falling off?

·
Registered
10,039 Posts
Narrow wide chain rings really help, but they aren't the only piece of the puzzle.

Shortening your chain to the right length for a single ring is really important too. A 3x9 length chain will have a lot of extra links that make it bounce around more and come off the chain ring

A derailleur with a shorter cage helps control the chain flapping too. But that is of course an investment that only makes sense if you're committing to 1x9

·
Registered
10,039 Posts
I've been doing 1x9 and now 1x10 for probably 10 years. I still don't have a clutch derailleur, but I haven't dropped a chain in years. Proper chain length combined with a narrow-wide chainring has done the trick for me.

You can run a 10 or 11spd chain even with a 1x9, and that will increase the retention on a narrow-wide chainring.

Disclaimers: I'm not sure how all brands and models of non-clutch derailleurs compare at preventing the derailleur and chain from bouncing. I have always had SRAM and it worked great. My wife's Deore derailleur bounced really bad while the SLX replacement seemed much better

If it's a full suspension bike, then the chain movement through the suspension travel could make be making it worse and really necessitate the next-level investments.

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
My hub is 135mm QR/10mm axle. Are there 135mm QR/10mm hubs supporting 1x12? If not, are there hubs supporting 1x11 or cassettes with a higher range like 11-40?

Attachments

·
since 4/10/2009
34,568 Posts