Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am a noob at bike maintenance. my only experience thus far is replacing disc brake pads, chains, hollowtech 1 bottom bracket, repairing a flat tube. but i am slowly becoming more self-reliant.

my next step is to be able to replace shifter cables... i have no internal routing on my bike, and the cables are only housed where they feed into the rear derailer and the two shifters on the handlebar. cables are exposed along the top tube.

research has indicated that the only tools i would need would be the cable cutter/crimper (CN-10)and cable stretcher (BT-2). these tools would cost up to $100.

youtube vids make this operation appear straight forward and simple. is this the case? how much time would it take a noob to perform this operation? how critical is it to own a bike stand for this?

afterwards, i intend to bring the bike to an LBS to adjust the shifting/derailleurs. i have not taught myself how to adjust shifting yet. seems complicated though.

by the way, happy easter!

·
Registered
17,557 Posts
Cable stretcher is unnecessary. After installation hold the rear derailleur to prevent it from moving inboard and pull the exposed cable to seat all the ferrules.

Always replace the housing too.

And if you do the adjustments in the right order the it's not that hard.

·
Registered
9,754 Posts
^^^yep. Cable/housing cutter is all you need. I like to have an awl or pick (small nail, etc) to open the end of the housing after cutting it. If I'm being really fussy, I square up the cut ends of the housing with a grinding wheel.

I've had a cable stretcher and after trying it a few time quit bothering with it.

If the bike currently has good clean routing and housing lengths, just copy them. Over time you might learn or think of more optimized setups that minimize friction or excess housing lengths.