Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.
I am very new to the art of frame building... although I do bring physics, mechanical, and sculptural precepts to the tray.
With the help of a wonderful open source drawing program, I sketched up a frameset
which has quality's I feel past owned cycles have been missing.
My body's shape is a bit odd, meaning that my upper is quite light compared to lower. So when sprinting, climbing, or max rpm'ing', I really run into issues with frame-sway loaded or unloaded in the saddle.

The odd geo is closer to the 'triple triangle' in that its side to side strength would hopefully be much stiffer then a standard 2 triangle design.

I am seeking experienced insight on whether taking the 3-tri further is a good/bad idea: lengthening (possibly enlarging the dia./draw) the seat-stays to reach almost midway on the top tube. The pair would have joints on the seat-tube which would nill having to attach a brake bridge (making it disc, front, or fixed cog only).

[lugs are not specific]

If I am way off on this sketch, please recognize I am just a curious fellow whose interests run high.

Thanks in time!

truly,
jmk

Attachments

·
mbtr member
6,499 Posts
whoa that looks weird. I'm not the fount of knowledge that some people are on here are, just a huge rider, but my experience is that the triple triangle set up does more to make the ride harsh than it does to keep the frame from swaying under power. A big downtube and large diameter beefy chainstays with a brace close to the rear wheel does a better job of keeping it all together. What's up with the wacky geo?

·
Registered
270 Posts
If you want a stiffer frame use larger diameter tubes and keep the front triangle small/tight.

·
builder of frames
74 Posts