Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I've recently got some pain on the outside of my hip and the front into my groin. I think it had to be from riding since its the only excercise I do. I have been riding a 1X setup for a little over a year and it has made me a much stronger rider. Wondering if anyone has had this hip problem and if pushing the bigger gears is the culprit?

·
Content from my avatar
4,355 Posts
It's nothing to do with the single chainring. I've been riding singlespeed and fixed gear for years without any issues. If it is from riding, it's likely your riding position. Do you have an efficient pedal stroke? Have you fitted your bike to your body, either with a professional, or through trial/error by yourself?

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've been riding 3-5 days a week for the last 5 years and never had a problem. I did lower my seat a bit to see so hopefully that's it.

·
Registered
356 Posts
Raise your seat back up and make sure your saddle is not too forward or too far back. That can only be done by trial and error. Also, start doing hip stretches on your days off your bike. The more you bike the less range of motion you will have in your hips.

·
Banned
266 Posts
Did you ride much over the winter or sit on the couch and drink beer? Might just be out of riding shape.

Make any changes recently? Saddle height, fore/ after?

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts
Cross-train. Take up running or swimming or weights or something.

Since you were fine before moving the saddle and now you're not, restoring it to its previous position sounds like a good idea to me.

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·