Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very new to mtb. I had enough of listening to friends and co-workers telling me how awesome it is and I decided to get myself a bike and conquer some trails.

In July, I'm going to a mtb clinic in a VERY hilly area (you know, hills the size of tiny mountains). The problem is the area I live in is very flat--flat as a pancake and there are no mtb trails with hilly terrain close enough to my home to make it out to ride them very often.

So, my question is, how do you train for hills on your bike when there are no hills? I don't want to be completely unprepared and out of shape for pretty intense hill riding in July. Thanks!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm in central Wisconsin (very flat), but I'm headed to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan for the mtb clinic (very not flat).

·
Registered
14,040 Posts
Get there a month early. haha
High intensity interval training.
What you need is short high output efforts, Whether on flat or inclined surface isn't important.
Start now and repeat 3 or more times a week to see improvement. Near your highest possible output for 60 seconds. Rest for a couple minutes. Repeat twice more. Do this three times a week. I'd suggest trying to lengthen the high output time to 120 second over time.

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts
LOL, I don't know. I start my ride by climbing 1000 feet.

Intervals will certainly help with the fitness aspect.

Bikes handle differently when there's a grade. So if you can find a way to put yourself on some hillier trails, it will really help. Maybe a couple Sunday field trips between now and July.

·
Mantis, Paramount, Campy
4,729 Posts
Depending on where you are head south or south west and do some road riding. There are plenty of steep hills at the glacial boundry and unending rolling terrain in the unglaciated area.

I would not consider the UP to be hilly or anything to worry about.