Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone point out the difference in riding characteristics between a HighRoller and a Minion tyre?
They both are renowned for their awesome grip, but I have no experience with these tyres.

·
Registered
510 Posts
The Minion is tall ramped knobs in the center area and slightly more space on the edge blocks. The High Roller has a lower center section and tall edge blocks with less spacing.

My experience is the high roller edge blocks save you from falls you otherwise would have and the Minion has more continuous traction as you move to the edge.

I like the High Roller for quick turns that are not long enough to do much with and the Minion for longer faster corners. The names are pretty accurate. The Minions do what you say and the High Rollers save you if you make a mistake.

·
Registered
515 Posts
The minion is a great tire for up front along w/ a high roller in the back. The minion is very predicatable from side to side transition. The high roller up front doesn't seem to track as well but is great for hard corning. A high roller in the rear is fun as the rear tends to drift in the corners until you really lean the bike then it grabs before you loose it.

Minion = even traction from one side to the other
High roller = awesome side traction w/ decent strait line traction, sketchy when riding between side knobs and center knobs.

·
on my 3rd wind...
1,827 Posts
Everyone is on point with both tires traits.

My fav combo is DHF front and HR in rear. Great grip up front and nice rolling resistance in rear. Or, you can run DHF both front and rear.

Don't care for HR in front for their "slide then grip" cornering chracteristic.

·
Registered
3,061 Posts
SingleTrackHound said:
Don't care for HR in front for their "slide then grip" cornering chracteristic.
Agreed.