Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
bigsbymalone
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Give me all your versatility stories, here's mine:

Rode 45 miles of singletrack w/a friend (he rode a 29" ss) in 5 or so hours at Kingdom Trails in VT in a day, next day 25 miles no issues. Two days later throw on a pair of 2.7's and head up to Highland Mountain for 12 runs of downhill. I'm a bike mechanic and expected this bike to work well but I had no idea it would impress me as much as it has. Killer job on this one Turner. Sorry about the lack of pics, I'll try and post up a few later. Bike weighs 41.5 btw.

·
Registered
169 Posts
This thread address exactly the question I had! Thanks!

The sale prices on the Highlines have me thinking about swapping out my 7point7 frame for a fancy Turner. I am a one bike kinda guy, and the 7point has served me well on all day rides that see me covering some serious ground including big ups and downs. So with proper gearing with a DRS, a 66 ETA and with some effort I am able to make my current 45lb bike perform on most rides I do. My question is this: will the Turner also be versatile enough to allow me to cover large distances with long, gnarly ascents? My old Rocky RMX couldn’t do it and I really don’t need a bike that I won’t allow me to go where I want. I’m sure some of you would recommend an RFX, but I do like to send it on some big jumps/drops/death chutes and I would like to not worry about blowing up/abusing a $2k frame.

So anyone who uses there Highline to cover more of the spectrum than just downhilling I would appreciate your input!

·
Team Sanchez
4,356 Posts
I use mine for 95% of the riding I do, including 15 mile trail rides. The HL climbs great and descends even better. Even when the climbing gets steep, the long wheelbase helps keep the front end glued to the ground.

Attachments

·
try driving your car less
3,096 Posts