Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks, thanks for having me. I'm gonna go ahead and call myself a total noob, although i can ride a bike. I currently have a mongoose blackcomb that I've had since 07(it makes me smile that's key here correct), I mostly ride smooth trails with rolling hills now and don't plan on much more. Often I'm pulling a trailer with a little one or two in it. With that said, my faithful mongoose y dying slowly... I went to my LBS ( see that I'm learning lol) asked about a new bike to get the job done decently for $500 or less. He scoffed at me and told me I would be super happy with the perfect bike for $2000 on top of my $500. Well nope I ain't got that and I'm not going to spend it on a bike. So I asked about getting a few new parts for ol faithful and he straight up went into hysterical laughter. Thanks for the help buddy... Anyway seems I can get a new blackcomb, it works for me or is there a better bike out there for me? Thanks and sorry for the long post

·
Registered
12,681 Posts
As a former bike shop mechanic, I apologise for that behavior. It's idiotic behavior like that that keeps customers away from spending money at bike shops.

It's true, there are very few decent bikes on the market for around $500. Most of the bikes in that price range will work for you, but you can get a better value if you stretch your budget a little bit. Anything over $1k is overkill for your needs.

I looked up the Blackcomb. No offense, but that's objectively a pile of ****. I'm not going all bike snob on ya, but I can tell from years of experience in shops and in a non-profit bike co-op that those are disposable bikes. Not worth flushing any more dollars down that toilet.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
As a former bike shop mechanic, I apologise for that behavior. It's idiotic behavior like that that keeps customers away from spending money at bike shops.