Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
764 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive been riding my size large 2019 stache 7 for about 8 months. I really like the bike and it came with a stock 60mm stem. I am running an aftermarket 760mm handlebar. I always feel though that the steering is just a tad slow. Like its not pointing/responding quickly enough to input especially when going fast. I was thinking of a shorter 50mm stem to quicken the steering. Anyone have any thoughts/similar experiences/advice on this?

·
Registered
2018 Trek Stache
1,512 Posts
It must be your technique. Mine turns as sharp as Barry Sanders. Get down as low as you can by dropping the post and lean that baby over. You will be amazed how sharp it will turn. If you are just trying to "steer" it by turning the handlebars then that is your problem.

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
What is your riding experience and what other bikes do you ride or did you ride before stache?

Could be technique, could be used to XC head angle, could be perception.

·
Registered
764 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I mainly ride trail/xc. Previous bike was a spec Camber with 68 degreeHA. The head angle on the stache is slightly more slack but doesn't feel bad at all. I mainly notice the slow steering when riding fast through tight enclosed singletrack with trees on both sides.

·
Registered
9,754 Posts
I'm not riding a Stache but I know the feeling; slow to start a turn wanting to run wide but wants to keep turning when it's time to go straight again. It's really obvious when you go from old steep head tube bikes. You can adapt to do it. It's taken me a while. It's a trade off made for better descending in chunk, which most are willing to make.

I also run shorter bars than most do nowadays, still way wider than in the olden days.

·
Registered
764 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·