Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a new rider that is overweight and out of shape but I am loving the hell out of riding. I have a POS FS from Walmart now looking for something a little better the bike shops i have gone to around here I guess look at me like a retard cause their customer service has sucked I am a poor firefighter looking to spend about 700-900 dollars can anyone give me some suggestions on bikes to look at? Pricepoint has a Sette XC2 FS for 700 is this any good? Help from experienced riders much welcomed thanks so much in advanced of hopefully some awesome help!!!

·
Former Bike Wrench
15,976 Posts
In the $700-$900 price range, you should really be looking at a hardtail (front shock only). Full suspension bikes in this price range tend to have much lower end parts than would be considered durable. Not sure why your not getting much customer service, but if your asking for a full suspension in that price range, they should be steering you to a hardtail.

If you want to order online, consider BikesDirect or Ibex

·
Registered
422 Posts

·
local trails rider
12,300 Posts
What about the suspension? And wheels?
Depending on your (over?) weight, you might have difficulties getting the suspension adjusted right. A hardtail would limit that issue to the front end of the bike, and probably still give you better quality, over-all, than a FS bike of similar cost.

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
Whitedog said:
Actually the Sette surprisingly comes pretty well equiped. Avid Juicy 3 hydraulic brakes, Sram X.7 trigger shifters, X.7 rear derailleur, 9 speed 11-34 cassette, Truvativ crank are components you usually see on $1500 bikes.
http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/16...tte-XC-2D-Full-Suspension-Bike-W/-Sram-X7.htm

Much better equipped than similarly priced FS bikes from bikesdirect or ibex.
I really thought this bike was a smoking deal on the specail sale that ends Dec 31