Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hopefully some Alfine 8 gurus here who can help me. I'm not a complete novice but a few issues are bugging me. Running one of these on a Pinnacle Arkose with eccentric bottom bracket. I wore down the last sprocket and chain so decided to spring for new FSA 40T chainring, new alfine 19T sprocket and paired with a KMC Z1 Wide SS chain. My problems are two-fold:
  1. After a couple of rides the chain loses tension and starts to slacken a little...so much that it starts to rub against the top of the Alfine gear arm. The EBB bolts are fine but I think after some bumps the alfine gear arm shifts (or the wheel does in the dropouts) which then creates a bit of slack. I've bodged it with a zip-tie round the gear arm and rear dropouts but it's not ideal and affects shifting to 1st gear a little.
  2. There is only 700km on this chain yet I stuck a Park Tool chain checker on it and it's already past 0.75...WTF? I've looked after the drivetrain and wasn't expecting chain to be so worn unless I'm missing something and the chain checker doesn't work the same with a SS chain?
Thoughts or help anyone?

·
Registered
431 Posts
All chains have a tight spot.....sounds like chain is too tight. Adjust tight spot with 10mm of free play.....

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter #4