Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

Just after a bit of advice with selecting my next tire combo. I'm current running High Roller II 2.4 up front and a Ardent Race 2.2 on the rear. I'm a big fan of the grip the the High roller offers but I don't like it's flat profile and heavy weight.
I bought the Ardent race thinking it was just a newer version of the Ardent but it's extremely scaled down and at speed it is a terrifying.

My thoughts have been to try a Magic Mary 2.35 up front and a Rock Razor 2.35 on the back. I have no experience with either of these tires however. Feedback on rolling resistance would be appreciated as that plays a big part in my tire selection.

Thank you guys

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sorry mate that would have been helpful. I'm from Australia so it's normally fairly dry hard pack clay. I'm not big on wet weather riding so I'd prefer to pick a tire for 'normal' conditions.

·
Registered
307 Posts
I'm actually converting to a tubeless setup and am using Schwalbe's. My buddy here in California (where I'm from too), which I'm assuming has similar trail conditions as Austrailia, swears by them. The combo I'll be doing is the Hans Damf 2.35 front & Nobby Nic 2.25 rear. The front compound is Trailstar and the rear compound is Pacestar. We ride technical trail and xc stuff mostly.

·
The White Jeff W
5,693 Posts
I'm actually converting to a tubeless setup and am using Schwalbe's. My buddy here in California (where I'm from too), which I'm assuming has similar trail conditions as Austrailia, swears by them. The combo I'll be doing is the Hans Damf 2.35 front & Nobby Nic 2.25 rear. The front compound is Trailstar and the rear compound is Pacestar. We ride technical trail and xc stuff mostly.
I run that set up on my 29er. Love it

·
Registered
2,060 Posts