Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there! I've been lurking here for a while now and was looking for help picking a bike.

I'm new to mtn biking and this will be my first and only bike. I have a friend at a LBS who is getting me a super deal on a new Gary Fisher HT.

I'm looking at both the Cobia and the Mamba. Both have the same frame and a lot of the same parts. The Cobia has a better Fork and brakes as well as a few others. I also like the color of the Cobia much more.....

Are the parts on the Cobia that much better? Or will I end up upgrading the parts on either bike as I start to progress?

·
Registered
372 Posts
I agree, you will def be happier in the long run. You like the look, really important at the end of the day and it includes a better fork. Components can always be swapped out in any case but do yourself a favor spend the few extra bucks up front especially when you have a shop ready to deal.

·
Registered
40 Posts
+1 on the Cobia.

I have an 08 Cobia. The Tora fork, though on the low end for air suspension forks, beats the snot out of a Dart 3 spring suspended fork.

I have 1500 miles on that frame. As I wore components out, I replaced them. Found deals on diffferent parts like a Fox F29 and an XT crankset. Now Im riding the bike right at 24 lbs as an SS convert. Love the geometry, the bike fits me well. I even raced it locally with the stock components and continue to race it locally as an SS.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Cobia

A wise man once told me that you will never regret getting the better of the two bikes.

i have found this to be exceedingly true in my bike buying history.

The air fork alone is worth upgrade and to answer your question, yes you will end up upgrading parts but you "probably" won't upgrade the fork because to get a better one you are going to drop 400-500 bones

make the power move here and go for the cobia

·
Registered
760 Posts