Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I'm a long time recreational mountain biker, but I'm new to this new geometry and was hoping I could get some help on better understanding what I might need. I grew up on the older geometry and even my newest bike is more in line with the "old school" geometry.

A little about me first. I am between 5'9" and 5'10" and somewhere around a 29 to 30" inseam (sorry, I'll have to get back to you if you need more specific answers than that, I didn't come prepared). I grew up riding bikes and practically lived on one for a good portion of my life. Fast forward quite a few years and I found myself riding less and less.

It's probably been 5 years ago now but I decided to get back into riding for a handful of different reasons and bought a newer bike at that time rather than fix up the bike I left off on. Even at that time, it was a lower end, basic, old geometry bike and now as years have passed it's become even more outdated. I just wanted something to get me back out riding again and I figured riding something that was cheaper and more basic was better than sitting at home dreaming about saving up for a better, more expensive bike. I absolutely loved getting back out and riding on my bike and it has served me well, but I've enjoyed it so much that I think I'm ready to upgrade to something newer now. But as someone who has never riden the newer geometry I find myself being a little overwhelmed trying to decipher it all. Unfortunately this hasn't really been the best time to just run out and try on some bikes with all of the ongoing shortages and supply issues, as that would answer many of my questions. I have a couple of bikes that are my main contenders at this point, but I'm trying to narrow down my sizing options so I can know which avenue I need to pursue.