Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok heres the deal I bought a 21 trek rail 9.8 xt and tore it apart in my kitchen and rebuilt it with all XTR 10-51t cassette XTR derailleur shifter and 4 piston XTR brakes. I also pulled the Bontrager pro 30 ally rims with the
Bontrager alloy, sealed bearing, alloy, 6-bolt, Rapid Drive 108, Shimano MicroSpline freehub, Boost148, 12mm thru axle rear hub
And replaced the wheels with
Raceface next 31s with the RaceFace Vault J-Bend 424 Rear Hub - 12 x 148mm, 6-Bolt, XD, Black, 32
But somehow the bike seemed snappier when it had stock wheels, Is this possible from the Hubs on the Bontrager 150 rims?? Im really asking, because Im no expert but I at least WANT TO know whats up.
Thanks

·
Sneaker man
3,464 Posts
Ok heres the deal I bought a 21 trek rail 9.8 xt and tore it apart in my kitchen and rebuilt it with all XTR 10-51t cassette XTR derailleur shifter and 4 piston XTR brakes. I also pulled the Bontrager pro 30 ally rims with the
Bontrager alloy, sealed bearing, alloy, 6-bolt, Rapid Drive 108, Shimano MicroSpline freehub, Boost148, 12mm thru axle rear hub
And replaced the wheels with
Raceface next 31s with the RaceFace Vault J-Bend 424 Rear Hub - 12 x 148mm, 6-Bolt, XD, Black, 32
But somehow the bike seemed snappier when it had stock wheels, Is this possible from the Hubs on the Bontrager 150 rims?? Im really asking, because Im no expert but I at least WANT TO know whats up.
Thanks
Just looking at what you had in bold, it looks like the raceface is XD driver, how did you get the XTR cassette on there?
But anyway it looks like (from my quick during lunch break search) the raceface are 1765 grams and the bontis 1608g... put the bonti's back on and sell the raceface

·
Premium Member
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Things that may have an effect due to rotational weight:
1. Tire weight
2. Wheel weight
3. Rim weight
4. Allow nipples vs brass