Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to cycling and would like to start commuting from Beaverton to Portland on the daily for work. Yes I know this is the mountain bike forum but it gets alot more action that roadbike review. I have mountain bike alot but have just started road riding. I live up in the west hills, by Bethany QFC to be exact. To start off I thought I would park by the Beaverton DMV to start off with a shorter ride. I am doing this for 2 reasons, to get more ride time, and cut cost of parking.

Does anyone know of good routes to get me downtown to the 2nd an Alder area near Pioneer Square? Some things I am mostly concerned about is bike friendly wide shoulder if it is a busy road.

Idea's?

So far I consider: http//ww.strava.com/routes/24759

·
Registered
70 Posts
I'm not able to see the strava route, but I don't think there is anything that fits your criteria. If you wanted to incorporate some dirt you could cut through Forest Park and avoid the fast roads. There's only so many ways across the Tualatin range and none are beginner friendly.

I just made this route for you to check out. The return route is slightly different and takes advantage of Holman Lane (singletrack; bikes allowed uphill only). It connects with NW 53rd and Thompson which will have much less traffic than Cornell.

Test Commute - Bethany to PDX - Oak Hills, OR

I forgot about the Zoo! Hooking up with the multi-user path along 26 to the zoo is probably your best bet on a paved surface. These are easier grades compared to the first route I linked to, but still challenging.

Bethany - PDX (paved) - Oak Hills, OR

·
Registered
4,444 Posts
You might consider incorporating the MAX into your bike commute. I've ridden the west hills in the evening after work and it can be a little stressful at times.

·
Registered
33 Posts