Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I am a student at NC State University, and I have the privilege of expecting to study abroad in Prague next semester. I have this glorious idea of bringing a bike there on the plane with me (checked of course), and putting it together right on the sidewalk outside of the airport. That said, for simplicity's sake I want to make that bike a single-speed. The other criteria is that it must be a mountain bike, because as much as I'd like to bring my road bike, it would not play well with Prague's many cobblestone streets.

So here's the criteria:
single speed
light as possible
hardtail or no suspension
big enough frame to behave like a road bike
light as possible

I have narrowed my search down to two bikes that are for sale locally to me on Craigslist:
Cannondale C400
https://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/BikeSpecs.aspx?Year=2001&Brand=Cannondale&Model=C400&Type=bike
Gary Fisher Tassajara
https://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike...2&Brand=Gary Fisher&Model=Tassajara&Type=bike

They are the same price... Which one would be better as a single speed conversion??? Which would be lighter?

PS, I'm trying basically to emulate this bike... minus the gearing...

Any input would be appreciated,
Thomas

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks! The C400 I'm looking at is actually in "smoke grey" but nonetheless it's a pretty sweet bike... And the front fork I'm sure is lighter as a rigid, but then again I've heard that the Tassajaras are very light themselves...

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·