Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
alright guys i am looking to get a bike!! i am new to this whole thing. i have a friend that has convinced me to give it a shot. so i headed down to the local bike shop. the guy at the shop recommended the trek 4500. what do yall think? i also like the Specialized hardrock sport and the Specialized rockhopper (just by the looks) which one of the three do yall recommend? oh and i like to tinker so modifying one is an option later. is one better than the other for modifications to make better?

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
Welcome to the forums

Of the three bikes you have mentioned my vote would go to the Rockhopper. Lighter frame than the Hardrock, and potentially better components based on the model you buy. All three bikes can be upgraded at a later date. It's really a matter of which bike you like the best. Take them all for a quick spin and see which one feels best.

Bob

·
rider
2,356 Posts
How big are you.? What are your local trails like? What kind of rider do you want to become, XC, all mountain or are you thinking of jumps and drops and such?

Better input gives better suggestions.

·
pronounced may-duh
4,306 Posts
What's your budget? What kind of riding are you planing on doing? How serious are you about this sport?

In general buy the best bike you can afford and try not to go thru all the upgrading. Ride that bike for several years then buy your dream bike.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
well right now im 230lbs and 5 feet 10 inches. i need a 18 inch bike...it was a hair tall(just barely touchedwhen i stood over) but the reach was very good. the local trails are pretty harsh. but there are a mix of trails. jumps and such come later. my budget is $500 max. does anyone know if the specialized bikes come with the double tubed wheels like the trek 4500? i will also use this in the city riding a little.

·
I post too much.
6,445 Posts