Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So last Sun. hubby and I headed out to Kicking Horse Resort for some downhilling. This is my first year downhill riding and I still consider myself a beginner mtber.

It was super fun but I definately was shaking like a leaf going up the gondola and riding down some of the steeper sections. I just get so nervous once I start picking up speed I slow down and can't relax enough to just release the brakes and ride. :( Hubby video taped some of my riding for fun and gosh I am riding soooo slow but honestly it felt like I was going 10x faster.

I don't know if it's nervous energy, adrenalin and just the exertion but I was really just buzzing and shaking after the runs. Took a few minutes of slow deep breathing to calm down.

I love downhilling, smiled and laughed all the way home because I think I rode better than I did last year and was proud to have cleared stuff I would have totally sketched out on (thank you Dirt Camp!)

How do you ladies keep calm and stay confident?

Crash

·
Don't worry, be happy!
8,141 Posts
Kicking Horse ---- so jealous!!

I don't have any advice, but I am going to try Stripes advice to have silly songs playing in my head when I start getting tense. "Springtime for Hitler, In Germany..."

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
Okay, so I don't know how much this helps but: