Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I'm new to the mtb world, but not to riding. Looking for the proverbial "do-it-all" bike.

Right now I'm in Florida, but in the next year I'll be up in Washington (State, not DC.) I figured an AM set-up would allow me to do as much as possible coast to coast. I'm about 210 lbs so I figured a XC bike would be pretty abused doing any bigger drops/jumps.

So where do I go from here? I'm pretty limited to the $700-$800 range. Here's what I'm looking at so far

Ibex Trophy Comp X7
07 Jamis Komodo 3.0
Specialized Rockhopper Disc
Trek 6000

What else should I be looking at and what other considerations should I keep in mind?

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
Welcome to the Forums

Hey Chuck. You need to do a little more research. 3 of the 4 bikes you have mentioned are typical XC type bikes and won't be good for the abuse you'll be putting them through if you intend to ride them aggressively, especially at your weight. The Jamis Komodo is the only one of the three built to withstand the rigors of more aggressive riding.

Bob

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah I kinda figured as much. Just trying to explore all of my options. I'm not planning to get too crazy with the cheese whiz until I get back up to Washington and I'm not adverse to upgrading components as I go. What other options do I have in that price range other than building something from the frame up?

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
Check the first thread in All Mountain Forum

It's a thread about hardtails. You'll see plenty of AM worthy hardtail bikes in that thread, and it should give you an idea of what you can buy right off the LBS showroom floor.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Revised Thoughts...

Alright, well it turns out that the +/- $700 is pretty stacked with options that are available at some LBS.

Kona Blast
Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc
Haro Escape Sport