Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently, I opened a thread in General Discussion to bring out some of the things that would be found in an ideal and yet realistic LBS. The response has been overwhelming, which proves all the more to me the need for a new look at what a bike shop is and can be. One responder in particular, Formica, asked me to open this thread from a new light: what do women want out of their shop? This is not a light topic, in fact central to the survival of the sport. I also hesitate to issue any disclaimers here, but the only thing I don't want is for someone to say that another's ideas are lame or impossible, blah blah blah. We're dreaming a little here. I work in a shop already, a good shop, and wonder at the end of every day how on Earth we keep the doors open. So, speak freely. Speak freely on your negative experiences. Speak on what you dream of from a shop.

·
Don't worry, be happy!
8,141 Posts
Since I sent you here...

I"ll repost what I put in that other thread, with some extra comments.

Condescending treatment is the #1 complaint that women have about LBS. That, and lack of stock/selection.

I've been told outright lies by one LBS. The biggest of them all was that no one makes a FS bike in my size, and I don't even ride an XS.

Keep small, high end mountain bikes in stock. I was ready to drive 5 hours away to another city to find a bike I could actually try before buying.

Educate staff on what WSD is and is not. Just because a gal is a gal does not automatically mean she needs a women specific bike, or women specific anything else either ( i.e., not all women wear flowers and pink) But, WSD frames can make a huge difference for some gals - so you have to know your stuff.

Many women wrench on their own bikes, don't treat us like we don't know what we are doing when we ask for certain tools or parts.