Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
x-post.....

Googled and searched mtbr and read til I was confused. Trying to set up my Reba 29 Brain fork on the Evo R Stumpjumper Expert and need help.

Released air from both neg and pos chambers. Filled pos chamber to 60% of body weight (I'm about 170 geared up) which is about 105 psi and put 90 psi in the neg chamber.

The o-ring does not move when I sit on to check sag.

I'm a Brain newbie and know what it does while riding, but presumed sag would still be measured. I have the Brain anywhere from full slow to full fast and it does not effect sag. Same with rebound.

My other bikes have Fox front & rear, and sag settings are a no-brainer (pun intended) to achieve 20% or 25% sag.

Is it not supposed to show measurable sag (and therefore the o-ring is to check full travel?).

Mods please move to the appropriate forum if more applicable than the Speci.

·
old fart
1,203 Posts
You should have zero pressure in the negative chamber when setting the sag
No, you should never have greater than about 15psi difference between the +ve & -ve chambers.

The procedure for sag is as above: brain fully off, and +ve/-ve pressures the same. If you are just starting out, the pressure should be the nominal value marked out of the fork for your weight.

·
Registered
316 Posts
I have just started attempting to get this dialed in with my bike shop. We are recording every change and it seems to be coming around, keep working on it.

·
Registered
170 Posts
Yea, this fork really confuses me. I tried the no air in negative chamber sag.... way no good. I tried the info on the fork leg, settings on the doc that is posted and just could not get good sag numbers but didn't open the brain all the way up. will try that next.