Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie, first post to this website. I just bought a bike a week or so ago, got a new Trek 4300. It's all I can afford right now, and it is a damn good bike.
anyway, i'm having trouble keeping the front wheel down when climbing, i can climb pretty well, but once i get to a certain point it seems like the wheel is coming off the ground and this is why i can't climb anymore, i have the leg strength to get up it, i am normally sitting down, and in a 1-2 or 1-1 gear combo. should i go to a different gear and stand up or what? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
649 Posts
dochall22 said:
I'm a newbie, first post to this website. I just bought a bike a week or so ago, got a new Trek 4300. It's all I can afford right now, and it is a damn good bike.
anyway, i'm having trouble keeping the front wheel down when climbing, i can climb pretty well, but once i get to a certain point it seems like the wheel is coming off the ground and this is why i can't climb anymore, i have the leg strength to get up it, i am normally sitting down, and in a 1-2 or 1-1 gear combo. should i go to a different gear and stand up or what? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated
Don't stand up, just make sure that your weight is over the front wheel as much as possible. Lean forward and shift up a gear if you need to. Also make sure that your seat is high enough to make pedalling like this comfortable.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Lean forward, breathe through the nose and try to get a rhythm going, that's how I climb and most of the time it works. Although my front wheel sometimes loses traction on muddy/rocky/wet inclines if I'm not careful.

PS: My dad just got a Trek 4300, he couldn't be more happier with it, I gave it a once over and it's really quiet a good bike.

·
Banned
683 Posts
Breath through your nose...