Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm looking for an entry-level mountain bike for my 16 year-old daughter. I have looked at the Trek 3700 and the Diamondback Sorrento. These are comparably priced (in my area, at least) and appear to be similarly equipped, but I'm no expert. I would appreciate if anyone has an opinion to help choose between these two or I'd also like to hear of other/better alternatives. If it helps, my daughter is 5'1", slender, and unlikely to put many demands on the bike.

Thanks for any advice you might offer.
Keith.

·
Yasco
59 Posts
Probably 13" Ibex Alpine 450 will work fine. Since you mentioned mountain biking (and not visits to coffee shop), I would not recommend Alpine 350 or cheap Trek/Specialized bikes, due to components, weight and geometry.
The WSD bikes usually have little shorter stem (which is easy to replace) and narrower handlebar. But, most girls ride "unisex" models just fine. If she gets really good on trails, next step would be Santa Cruz Juliana :)

·
Registered
454 Posts