Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

It's my first post and I need some help. I'm a novice mountain biker, I used to ride a bit in New Zealand on an '07 Marin Nail Trail I had to leave behind when I moved to Santa Fe. I'm trying to buy a hardtail that doesn't break the bank but is decent riding. I'm a casual rider but don't want something that will frustrate me. My budget is about 700 dollars (max!!). I was trying to find something on Craigslist or Pink Bike for about the 500 used mark, but have realized after riding a few bikes I really want a 27.5/650B bike - that type suits me so much better than a 29er or regular 26inch wheel bike. I'm 5ft4 and a lady.

I tried the new Jamis Nemesis Sport 2014 and liked it, but I have the chance of getting a new Diamondback Axis or Lux Comp through some discounts I have access to, for the same price as the Jamis (approx 700). The components on the Diamondback seem better but the Jamis comes from a local bike shop and I haven't heard much good (well there are really no reviews that I can find) about Diamondback.

Is this just snobbery? Is there a huge difference in the frame (between Jamis and Diamondback)? Because if there isn't, my gut says to go with the better components rather than the frame... though, is there much difference at this price range?

Link to the Diamondback:
Diamondback Bicycles - Lux Comp 27.5

Link to the Jamis:
Jamis Nemesis Sport - 650b/27.5" Cross Country Hardtail Mountain Bike

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
599 Posts
Diamondback is a Merida. Merida is also specialized, so they build lots of good bikes and have for quite some time. The Jamis might come from Merida as there are very few OEM's. Both are fine bikes with nothing that's going to make a world of difference.