Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm about ready to throw my fork into a tree. I've been building my dream bike for 4 months - last part, the fork. I purchased one Skareb Super - wouldn't lockout from remote. Returned it and ordered another, this one wouldn't unlock. Returned that one then decided to upgrade to SPV technology - Manitou's new R7 Platinum. Cut it, installed it and low and behold it behaves exactly like my old Skareb.

I press down on my handlebar and it compresses just like a Skareb. I thought the special valve caused the fork to resist this downward compression? Otherwise, why did I spend $600? Have I not done something right during set-up or am I going to have to return my third Manitou fork in a month? I have a Manitou shock pump but do I need a special SPV pump? Is there something you need to do during set-up to make the SPV feature work? Please help, I'm ready to lose it.

·
I dig trails!
5,603 Posts
kranest said:
Please help, I'm ready to lose it.
Sorry to hear your plight.

"Snap Valve" SPV is unfamiliar to me but I can say to give Answer a call, they even call back if you leave a message:
661-257-4411
http://www.answerproducts.com/contactus.asp

With current SPV, more air pressure = more platform

Then there is this from Answer (SPV set up PDF):
http://www.answerproducts.com/pdffiles/SPVSETUP2.pdf

Please post back results as I am sure some of us here would like to hear about how "Snap Valve" SPV performs (or not).

Mr. P

·
Old man on a bike
12,395 Posts
You're going to have to describe more of your specific setup and what you've done to test it other than pushing on the bars. Have you used any kind of platform valve shock or fork before? Why anyone would spend 600 on a Manitou I don't know...

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Bikinfoolferlife said: