Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
just discovered this forum yesterday -- cool stuff.

I ride bikes alot, but I'm not too good at working on them, so any kind souls out there who'd like to hold my hand through this?

Here's my idea. My clunker / commuter / pull the kid trailer bike is my first mt bike -- a 1991 steel Specialized Stumpjumper. The drive train is pretty rusty and worn. Shifts pretty poorly, etc. So I thought it be cool to convert it to a single speed.
Smilie I have a vague idea how to do this but have a lot of questions and not much $$ to do it. So I just throw these out there:

What do I need to buy? Seem like I need a new single front chain ring, a new single rear chain ring. Do I need a new rear hub, or can I use the existing one. I've checked out Sheldon Brown and he seems to recommend some places to buy stuff. I'm thinking I don't really need new nice stuff, though. Any good used places? Ebay?

I can take the derailers off and probably install the new front chainring. But what about the rear? Re-dishing the wheel is the part I'm sure I can't do. Can my LBS do this?

That's it for now. Thanks for tolerating all the basic/dumb questions. :)

·
Registered
605 Posts
Faq

Take a gander at the FAQ first. That'll answer most of your questions. Bottom line is you've already got everything you need to do a conversion on your '91 Stumpy. You'll just be taking some stuff off. If the chain is rusted, you'll need to get a new one but that'll be something like $10-$15. Have fun and let us know if you've got more questions after reading the FAQ (link is at top of the page).

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
tools?

OK - I read most of the FAQ, put the bike up on the stand last night and completed most of the demo. Got the derailers, shifters and cables off. Took the big front ring off. I think I'm doing pretty good, but I've got a few more stupid questions.