Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, newbie here. Only done a small number easy trail rides in the past, so not much experience, this will be my first serious mountain bike. Uses will be mostly trail riding, fire roads, and perhaps later when I get more adventurous some more all mountain stuff, if I am using that term correctly. Price difference between the two is negligible and unimportant. The Rockhopper is barely used and the Stumpjumper and it's components are in excellent condition as well... front suspension condition on the stumpy is unknown, so rebuild may be required.

It is pretty dry where I ride so disc brakes are not necessary, though I would be curious as to whether one or the other is disc-ready.

Which do you think I should go with? Thanks in advance!!

2000 Stumpjumper M2 Comp

Frame Construction TIG-welded
Frame Tubing Material Specialized M2 XX Metal Matrix
Fork Brand & Model Answer Manitou MARS, 3.15" travel
Fork Material Aluminum/magnesium, triple-clamp crown

Component Group Mountain Mix
Brakeset Avid 1D-25 brakes, Avid SD-1.9 L levers
Shift Levers Shimano Deore XT RapidFire SL
Front Derailleur Shimano Deore XT
Rear Derailleur Shimano XTR SGS
Crankset Specialized Strong Arm 2 Comp, 22/32/44 teeth
Pedals Specialized Comp
Bottom Bracket Shimano BB-UN52
BB Shell Width Unspecified
Rear Cogs 9-speed, 11 - 32 teeth
Chain Shimano, 1/2 x 3/32"
Seatpost Ritchey Expert, 30.9mm diameter
Saddle Specialized Revolution
Handlebar Specialized alloy
Handlebar Extensions Not included
Handlebar Stem Specialized alloy
Headset 1 1/8" threadless Tange Seiki alloy

Hubs Specialized Micro STOUT
Rims Mavic X225, 28-hole/32-hole
Tires Front: 26 x 1.90" Specialized Dirt Control Comp, Rear: 26 x 1.90" Specialized Dirt Master Comp
Spoke Brand DT stainless steel, 1.8mm straight gauge
Spoke Nipples Alloy nipples

2009 Rockhopper

Frame Construction TIG-welded
Frame Tubing Material M4 aluminum