Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! Just a quick introduction :)

My name is Dario, I'm from Miami Florida, and the first time I did Mt biking was back in highschool. I loved it but once I graduated I stopped going, then one day I said dammit I want to go biking again, but my bikes suspensions (Porsche bike S) crapped out on me and it was going to be too expensive to fix, so it kinda died out. Then recently I came across a cannondale F6 (I'll post pics) which needed a little love and decided to start again. I am going this week-end after at least 5 years of absence from the trails and recovering from a knee injury due to a snowboarding accident, so wish me luck!

I have a tech question. On my old porsche bike there are some nice Magura Hydraulic brakes, and since the bike is not usable anymore, I thought of putting those on the cannondale. But before I venture on this swap, do you think they will fit? Are the supports for brakes standard on every mt bike so that you can put different brake systems on?

Thank you!

·
Former Bike Wrench
15,976 Posts
What crapped out on your Porsche S? They were pretty simple single pivot designs made by Votec so you may be able to resurrect it.

As far as the brakes, I don't remember if those are 51mm IS mounts or not. If they are you should be able to mount them up to the C'dale, though you may need an adapter and larger rotor for the front.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The suspensions bottomed down and they don't go up anymore, as if the springs inside have lost the support and kinda slide inside the tube.

The brakes aren't disc brakes, they're the V type. I'll try to post pics as soon as possible maybe that will help.

·
Registered
390 Posts
hi...
congrats on your return to mtbing.
but i have to ask...you got a porsche mtb when you were a kid in high school? hmmm!