Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all,

been looking to trade my ht in for a fs lately and have been looking at the Heckler. After reading this forum I have a few questions regarding setup. How does the swinger coil or air compare to the 5th coil? I am a complete newbie at this shock thing so anything to shed light on this will be much appreciated.
There were mentions of "brake jack"? So will it be necessary to fit a floater to it or will it all be in my head? Thanks.

Oo

·
Advanced Slacker
15,318 Posts
e-rider said:
hi all,

been looking to trade my ht in for a fs lately and have been looking at the Heckler. After reading this forum I have a few questions regarding setup. How does the swinger coil or air compare to the 5th coil? I am a complete newbie at this shock thing so anything to shed light on this will be much appreciated.
There were mentions of "brake jack"? So will it be necessary to fit a floater to it or will it all be in my head? Thanks.

Oo
I've been on a Heckler with a 5th coil for about 1-1/2 years. At the time the 5th coil was probably the best option, but now I'm not so sure. It works great IF you are willing to spend a great deal of time fiddling with the 7 different variables (1-spring weight, 2-preload, 3-chamber volume, 4-chamber pressure, 5-rebound, 6-begining stoke compression, 7-end stroke compression). The issue I have with any spring shock with a platform is that if you don't want a super plush and active shock, why bother with a spring? Anyway, it is not something that is going make me go out and buy another shock, but if I could do it all over again I would at least look at the options out there. The Swinger 4 way air and the Fox RP3 sound like good options, though they have a shorter stroke, giving you 5" of rear travel as opposed to 5.6" with the 5th coil or Fox DHX.