Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3,460 Posts
A friend of mine ( who is a tough ass State Cop) has some that have the little battery case around the ankle. He swears by them with lighter weight cold weather race shoes

·
Registered
250 Posts
My toes get cold very easily and I couldn't do much winter riding without an active heat source. I've been using Hotronic e4 warmers for a few years. Keeping the toes warm helps keep circulation from shutting down. There is a definitely hot spot in the middle of these pads, so I'm probably going to shift them outward a bit.

No remote, but I clip the battery packs to my boots and can reach down while riding to change the heat setting. Strap on the Wolvhammers makes a convenient place to hang the battery.

edit: The kit comes with pads, and you use them with whatever insoles you have.

bIMG_1007.JPG

bIMG_1029.JPG

·
Registered
14,356 Posts
My GF uses an older style heated insole and heated glove skiing. She has a medical condition that results in poor circulation to the extremities. They work well for her.

The concept is sound.

We haven't tried this new technology.

·
Registered
14,356 Posts
Yup. I didn't bother mentioning since I figured the specific condition didn't matter.

She had an "attack" or acute episode early this summer on an early morning tandem ride. Doesn't look like much fun. :(

Although it can get better as you age. Her mother's condition seems to have improved based on anecdotal evidence, but she's not a fatbiker so it's also possible she just isn't exposing herself to cold as much as she did when she was younger.

I'm happy to ride sand in Baja so her being cold sensitive doesn't phase me! ;)

·
Registered
170 Posts
But then.. DIY anyone?