Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2,152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a heart rate cycle-computer about a year ago and am absolutely attached to it. When I first started using it, it was less than 6 months since I started riding. Back then on the loop I still regularly ride today, my avg HR was in the neighborhood of 160-170, and I'd peak around 190ish up climbs. My average speed for my loop was damn slow though, only around 4.5mph. A lot of short steep anaerobic climbs, and I'd be winded pretty bad at the top and would have to stop to catch my breath before continuing. Now, I ride the same loop around 6+mph (only stopping if I can't clean a technical section, and there's only one left that I've never cleaned, yet!), with an avg hr of usually 155, maybe 158 on a harder ride. My hr almost never gets above 180, 175 usually being the max. On a good note, I can actually recover while still climbing by spinning in a low gear on less steep climbs.

Now, my question is, am I riding hard enough? Should I push my HR closer to my max regularly? When my HR aproaches 180, I start getting pretty winded.

·
The Uber Carnivore
360 Posts
Get a roady

If you want to get more fit, get a road bike and do four days a week on it at 60-80% of your max heart rate (1-6 hours per workout). You also need hard efforts at 85-95% max heart rate, and it looks like you're getting that on your moutain bike during the climbs. Some easy to moderate road work will raise your fitness a lot. With proper nutrition, you'll be super fit and feel strong at the top of the sustained climbs (like, one hour non-stop).

·
Registered
2,152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've recently started going on road rides on my mtb (about once a week, 18-19 miles), for now, until I can get a road bike. And I have felt a pretty good improvement in my riding since then. thanks..