Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
(slight return)
2,139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a singlespeed newbie trying to avoid killing myself. I'm on a rigid 29er, 32:20, and need some advice, it's been a while since I've ridden the Headlands.

From Rodeo Beach I'm thinking going up Bobcat is better than going up Miwok?
From Tennesee Valley, how brutal is the climb up Coastal?
Is Middle Green Gulch open now? I read it might be closed in winter.

The sections I remember making use of my granny gear were going up coastal from Muir beach and another rocky section going north from Tennessee Valley. Can't remember if that was on Miwok or Coastal. Anything else to avoid on the ss?

Thanks!
-slide

·
aka baycat
8,480 Posts
Slide

32 x 20 seems like a good ratio, though I think I have heard most say they run a 32 x 21.

Just rode it this morning...

Bobcat would be the easier albeit wiser ;) way on the SS, but of course takes a little longer and it does not lead right into Old Springs, watch out for all the gravel on Old Springs and I hope they still have those water bars. Almost lost it a few times coming down nto Tennessee Valley. Miwok is steep and short, good workout.

Coastal FR climb is a grunt with gears, Dave 8trak cleans it.

Woo just tired of thinking about a SS on those trails. Have fun with the new toy!

·
(slight return)
2,139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey Ryan,

Have you ridden it on the ss yet? Looks like 32:20 is about the same as 32:18 on a 26er. 32:20 seemed right on at cc but I'll admit to stopping twice on the way to the nike site. :eek: Next time fer sure.

Thanks for the info. Look for a post on a night ride there in the next couple weeks.

-slide

·
Registered
4,371 Posts
slide mon said:
Hey Ryan,

Have you ridden it on the ss yet? Looks like 32:20 is about the same as 32:18 on a 26er. 32:20 seemed right on at cc but I'll admit to stopping twice on the way to the nike site. :eek: Next time fer sure.