Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't know what the correct term is for mountain biking, but in motorcycling, the term for the problem I've been having on the trails with my new bike is head shake. Basically when I'm coming down a gradual hill (doesn't have to be steep at all), the front wheel seems like it's jumping around between ruts and causing the bars to really shake back and forth. It feels like I could be going so much faster, but I'm constantly squeezing the brakes so I don't end up in a full on tankslapper.

I'm pretty new to all of this, so it could just be my severe lack of experience. I thought there might be a trick or two that I haven't picked up on yet to combat this.

·
Registered
290 Posts
Do you have a suspension fork? What sort of bike do you ride?

You're going to get a fair amount of feedback from trail features...but this can be a good thing, since it allows you to feel the trail beneath you. Suspension forks help absorb some of this chatter, as does frame geometry. XC frames have steeper head tube angles than freeride or downhill bikes, so they can be "twitchier", but they are also more responsive for slow-speed maneuvering on tight trails.

When it gets bumpy and rutted, loosen up your grip (a death grip will rattle your brains out), and absorb a lot of the twitching with your arms, which should be slightly bent.

Just out of curiosity, what is the proper technique in motocross?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, I have a Dart 1 on my Forge Sawback. I know it's just an entry level fork, but I'm definitely doing entry level riding for now. :) I do have it set to the hardest setting (advice from this forum), so maybe I'll back it down a little bit. It does seem a little stiff for my weight.